Academic Advisory Committee

Academic Advisory Committee

Lin Chen_1

Lin CHEN, Ph.D.

Professor Lin Chen is an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, an internationally renowned psychologist and scientist. Professor Chen published a paper in Science in 1982, as the only author, he proposed the theory of initial perception of topological properties. With regard to the fundamental question of “what is the basic unit of cognition,” he challenged the theory of “local first” that has been dominant for more than half a century. Over the past thirty years, the theory of topology and functional hierarchy of visual perception~ “large range first” and the topological definition of the basic unit of cognition have been comprehensively and systematically developed. Professor Chen has made huge contribution to the development of Chinese psychology and trained a group of outstanding psychologists. His team’s research has always been at the forefront of the international community in this field, and has had an important impact on the Chinese psychology and scientific community.


Peter T. FOX, Ph.D.

Dr. Peter Fox is a neuroimaging researcher at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He holds joint appointments in radiology, neurology, psychiatry, and physiology. Dr. Fox is also the Founding Director of the Research Imaging Institute, based at the University of Texas Health Science Center. A neurologist by training, Dr. Fox is considered a pioneer in the application of transcranial magnetic stimulation in multiple brain diseases. His research expertise includes clinical neurobiology, cognitive neurobiology, human functional brain mapping, and imaging methodology. From 2004 to the present, Dr. Fox has consistently been listed as one of the most highly cited scientists in neuroscience, amassing over 36,600 citations since 2016.

Jiahong Gao_1

Jiahong GAO, Ph.D.

Chair Professor, Director of Beijing Key Laboratory of Medical Physics and Engineering, Peking University. Director of Magnetic Resonance Imaging Research Center and researcher of McGovern Institute of Brain Science of Peking University. He obtained his Ph.D. from Yale University, and received his post-doctoral training at MIT.  Professor Gao has been engaged in research in the field of brain imaging and brain science for a long time, and has published nearly 200 academic papers in international journals including Science, Nature and PNAS. He has served as the chairman of the Overseas Chinese Medical Magnetic Resonance Imaging Society. He is currently the chairman of the International Society for Human Brain Mapping (OHBM) and the chairman of the China Brain Imaging Consortium.


Xiaoqing HU, Ph.D.

Dr. Xiaoqing Hu currently holds an Assistant Professor position at the Department of Psychology, The University of Hong Kong. Dr. Hu received his Bachelor’s degree from Zhejiang University, Ph.D. in Brain, Behavior, and Cognition from Department of Psychology, Northwestern University. He then finished his post-doctoral training in the Department of Psychology, University of Texas at Austin, before moving to Hong Kong. Dr. Hu’s research interests are sleep, memory, voluntary forgetting, and social cognition.


Tatia Mei-Chun LEE, Ph.D.

Professor Lee, a registered clinical psychologist and a certified clinical neuropsychologist, is the Chair Professor of Psychological Science and Clinical Psychology and May Professor in Neuropsychology, and the Director of the State Key Laboratory of Brain and Cognitive Sciences at the University of Hong Kong. She is a Visiting Professor at King’s College London. Professor Lee’s research is at the frontiers of neuropsychology and human neuroscience, focusing on the neuroplastic underpinnings of neurocognitive and affective functions, especially applicable for older people. She has published numerous scientific papers. She serves as an associate editor/editorial board member of influential journals that publish data-guiding research and practice of clinical psychology/neuropsychology and human neuroscience.



Professor Morris Moscovitch is University Professor of Psychology (Emeritus) at the University of Toronto, Canada. He is also a Senior Scientist at the Rotman Research Institute of Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care in Toronto, Canada. Professor Moscovitch is a leading neuropsychologist in the areas of memory, attention, and face recognition. His research expertise includes the cognitive neuroscience of memory in both healthy and clinical populations, and how memory interacts with other functions such as attention, perception, problem solving, and prosocial behaviour. In recognition of his contributions to the fields of clinical neuropsychology and cognitive neuroscience, Professor Moscovitch was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in December 2020.

PC Sham

Pak-Chung SHAM, Ph.D.

Professor Sham is a world-renowned expert in the genetics and epidemiology of psychiatric disorders, and statistical methodology for genetic studies. He is currently Chair Professor of Psychiatric Genomics, and holder of the Suen Chi-Sun Professorship of Clinical Science. He completed specialist training in Psychiatry at the Bethlem Royal and Maudsley Hospitals, and was awarded a PhD in Genetics from the University of Cambridge. As one of the most frequently cited scholars in psychiatric genetics, he has authored more than 400 peer-reviewed articles and the internationally acclaimed book entitled “Statistics in Human Genetics” (Edward Arnold, London 1998). Professor Sham’s research team aims to gain insights into the aetiology and mechanisms of complex diseases and traits by developing new statistical methods and applying them to large-scale genetic data.


Kwok-Fai SO, Ph.D.

Professor So is Emeritus Professor at The University of Hong Kong, and the Director of GHM Institute of CNS Regeneration at Jinan University, Guangzhou, China. He is also a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Co-Chairman of the Board of Director of the ChinaSCINet, and Editor-in-Chief of Neural Regeneration Research. Professor So is one of the pioneers in the field of axonal regeneration in visual system. He was the first to show lengthy regeneration of retinal ganglion cells in adult mammals with peripheral nerve graft. Professor So used multiple approaches including: exercise, wolfberry, neurotrophic factors, peptide nanofiber scaffold, and environmental manipulation, to promote axonal regeneration after injury in the optic nerve and spinal cord. His team currently use exercise, light therapy and Wolfberry polysaccharides to treat depression.


Jizong ZHAO, M.D.

Professor Zhao is a neurosurgeon and professor of Beijing Tiantan Hospital, Capital Medical University, and academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He is the Executive Committee Member and Nominating Committee Member of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS), Member of the American ANNS and Chinese Chairman of the Dandy Neurosurgical Society. Professor Zhao has long been engaged in neurosurgery clinical and clinical basic research. Professor Zhao pioneered to establish the minimally invasive neurosurgery technology platform based on the “Anatomy and Brain Function Precise Positioning System” and the “Brain Cognitive Function Protection Early Warning System” which is an important transition from the protection of brain anatomical structures to the protection of brain functions. With his efforts, WFNS resumed its membership of the Chinese Neurosurgery Society in 2005, successfully established the academic status of Chinese neurosurgery.